Finding my ice cube

 

I am a proud dog mom. My furbaby Clark is 100lbs of fluff and slobber. In our home he has a room that he stays in when Sam and I are at work. He is still puppish, and if given the opportunity he loves to shred scarfs, papers, and the fur on my winter boots.

When Sam and I get home it is like jail break. My puppy gets super giddy, does a happy dance, and gets as far as he can away from that room.

If I were to put a treat in his room, Clark would stay in the living room..

If I were to put water in water in his bowl, Clark would stay in the living room.

You have probably heard the idiom, “you can lead a horse to water, but you can’t make it drink”. Standing just under 4 foot tall, but dog is practically a mini horse. As much as I fill his bowl, he is not going to drink water. He is not a dumb dog. He knows that if he gets put in the room that he is going to get stuck there.

However, if you were to grab an ice cube from the freezer and drop it in his bowl. No matter where Clark is, he comes running.

I can lead my dog to water, but he will not drink  on his own. He needs more than that. He needs ice cubes.

On several occasions I have heard this idiom compared to teaching. You can teach a student, but it is their job to learn. It is not the teacher’s.

This is the problem that I have been reflecting on lately.

Upon an unsuccessful senior presentation my principal said with a laugh, “I don’t blame the student, I blame the teacher”.

I blame the teacher.

Wow, did that cut deep.

I take being wrong like Mega Mind…

dcab6110377c4ff97c63501856d4d42b.jpg

 

 

When he was finished with the presentation, I sat down and asked him how he thought it went. He was hesitant. I think that he could read the faces of the people in the room.

Together we reviewed what he missed and what I observed. I instructed him that he would need to present again. Before he could do so, I airdropped the recording and asked him to see how he could improve. He will present later this week.

I thought that I gave the student everything he needed from day 1. I had all of the rubrics, papers, projects, and he came in several times to work on assignments.

I worked with him, but now reflecting… Did I find his ice cube?

There are gaps in my teaching. Lucky for me, I will not have another senior presentation until May. Until then, I will be searching for my students’ ice cube.

 

 

Leave a Reply

